Can I get some real food please?

Am I alone in being tired of food that makes me tired? Food that is actually toxic?  Let “No Frankenfood!” be my battle cry!  I want REAL food! I want taste! I want texture! I want…YUMMY! And I want it to be actually good for my body. Is that too much to ask?Image

I’ve started this blog in an attempt to map my journey from sugared processed food to nutrient dense minimally processed eating. I have several chronic health issues, Type 2 Diabetes and Hashimotos Thyroidosis, and have struggled with my weight for years. My goal is not weight loss but rather health. I am assuming that if I am healthy my weight will naturally lower to an acceptable level. As a wife and mother of two young boys I have struggled with getting everyone on board with the healthy eating. My husband has Celiac and Crohns and my two boys are complete opposites metabolically speaking. My eldest is tall, lean and underweight. My youngest  is shorter and leans toward pudge. I want them both to get the food that is going to nourish their bodies and brains. Food that will put their weights in the right range for them. My husband also needs to lose quite a few pounds, just like me, and resolve his health issues. After lots of reading and research I have concluded that since our immune systems begin in our gut that I need to feed us things that will leave us with a healthy digestive system. That means good quality meats, poultry and fish. A large variety of vegetables and fruits, minimal dairy and  some nuts. I will be trying to leave grains and legumes behind and it goes without saying that anything boxed, canned or comes in a paper sack through a drive in window is gonna be out. Now, having said that I’ve never been fanatical about anything in my life. Will there be taken out in our future? Of course! Will I freak out if they get a cupcake at school or cheese curls at a friends’ house? No way. What I am hoping for is that I will have changed their palates so that all the processed stuff will not be nearly as appealing as the real thing. It’s all about the baby steps. I will NOT be serving my family chicken liver pate and kale tonight! I will be making sausage with marinara with spaghetti noodles for the kids and over vegis for me and my husband. Yes, the kiddos will be getting vegis as well. I can’t afford to clean out my pantry and buy only things that are organic grass fed  and pastured. Walmart anyone? So…I am going to have to make some choices. Lean meat instead of grass fed fattier cuts because of the amount of Omega-6 in the fat of cheaper beef. Lots of soup bones for bone broth. Some organic fruits and vegetables especially the ones that you don’t peel first. I’ll be making a lot of my own stuff like nut butters, baked goods ( with nut flours) and kombucha. There is so much information out there in cyber land! These are some of the websites I LOVE!

http://www.balancedbites.com http://www.paleoparents.com http://www.againstallgrain.com http://www.paleomg.com http://www.paleodietlifestyle.com

So, my family better get on the bus because it’s the only ride in town!

Leave a Reply

